A Simple Home

I first moved to Maui back in 2004, wide-eyed and hungry, fresh out of college in NYC. I didn’t take to the slow pace and lack of hustle right away. It took me years, actually, to feel the vibe and appreciate the Aloha spirit. So I traveled and moved around and got my city fix elsewhere. I never imagined that I would make Maui my home in the traditional sense of being a home-owner here. The real estate market is a bit daunting in the Islands. But I think our little family has reached the point of wanting our own plot of land and a modest home to hang our hats. We’re starting to look and its really exciting. So now I’m keeping visual notes on a simple home design for some day down the line.

Söderöra is a summer house by Tham & Videgård Architects in the Stockholm archipelago. The exterior is covered in black roofing felt. The interior is covered in white wood panels and features a central open living space and two bedrooms, a bathroom and a storage room in each of its four corners. The ceiling skylight allows for a lot of natural light.” via Design Milk
soderora-6
soderora-2 soderora-3 soderora-4

Leave a Reply

