The Glow

The Glow captures mamas and their children in their own space looking all naturally radiant and beautiful. Most of them are creative city dwellers so its nice to hear their work-life balance, struggles and joys and shop favorites. I like these tiny gems of wisdom:

From stylist Katie Young: “As a mom, you get to experience what falling in love feels like again with each child.”

From shop girl Maryam Nassir Zadeh: “I was once told by an astrologer that you and your child pick each other before they are born. It’s incredible to think we are destined to live our lives together, and that my child will be my friend forever. It’s the best feeling to experience building your own family—these members are the most significant relationships you have in life.”

From photographer Zoë Buckman: “The most surprising thing about being a mother is what it does to your capacity to feel things. I thought that I was loving with all of my heart before, but now that I have a child I’ve discovered a whole new depth of love (for my baby, my husband, my parents). You also experience fear and sorrow in greater depth too. As morbid as it sounds, the hardest thing about being a mum is the sudden awareness of my and my baby’s mortality.”

From painter Jemima Kirke: “In order of importance: 1.Self, 2. Marriage, 3. Child. Of course all are as important as each other, but neglecting the one before is a disservice to the one after.”


Photography by Kelly Stuart

Leave a Reply

