Roads for Traveling Souls

I still glance at Mikael Kennedy‘s Passport to Trespass book every so often. I ordered it on a whim some years ago when I was really into my Polaroid camera. His work makes me nostalgic for those hazy square prints and the expanse of America. Mikael and New York photographer Sean Sullivan are currently on the road, wandering east into the high deserts of New Mexico then north through the Rockies, into the plains of Montana and across the Pacific to California’s rugged coastline. They’ve titled their journey Ramblers Bone and you can follow them along for the ride here.




A PROMISE to California,
Also to the great Pastoral Plains, and for Oregon:
Sojourning east a while longer, soon I travel toward you, to remain,
to teach robust American love;
For I know very well that I and robust love belong among you, inland,
and along the Western Sea;
For These States tend inland, and toward the Western Sea—and I will
also.  -Walt Whitman



Americans should know the universe itself as a road, as many roads, as roads for traveling souls.
– Walt Whitman



Photographs by Mikael Kennedy and Sean Sullivan

One thought on “Roads for Traveling Souls

Leave a Reply

